Clips: The best way to copy, paste, and re-use text snippets 


 

Text and screenshot by iMore

Clips is a simple app with one main purpose: to make copying, pasting, and re-using text snippets as simple as possible. Unlike keyboard shortcuts, Clips can import anything on your clipboard with just a swipe and a tap. You can also activate the keyboard and action extension to access your snippets in even more places.

 

When I discovered Clips in the App Store a few weeks ago, I was intrigued by the idea of having frequently used blocks of text available to me via Notification Center. At first I had to train myself to remember to use them, but once I did, Clips immediately became a necessary part of my workflow.

 

Anytime I need to use a canned email response, I just swipe down in Notification Center and copy the text I need. And if I need to copy a huge block of text for later use — whether that’s a code snippet, links, or plain text — Clips instantly recognizes what I’ve got on the clipboard and lets me import it with one tap.

 

If you frequently work with links and embedding images, Clips supports both. With links, you can choose many different formats including Markdown syntax and many different title plus URL formats. You can even share images with Clips for easy access. I’ve found this convenient for images that go with articles I want to share more than once on social media, for example. Once I’m done, I can remove it from Clips. You can even be slightly evil and save your favorite memes for convenient reuse. GIF files, however, are touch and go and sometimes showed up as blank for me.

Read the whole review on iMore.

Leave a Reply

