Rich Plain Text Notes  


Text by Gabe Weatherhead (MacDrifter)

Nothing against Evernote, but it’s just not on a trajectory I like anymore. It’s been a long time since I’ve used it on a daily basis so I decided it was probably time to finish my transition off of the platform.

For 90% of my stuff I have either plain text files or Pinboard bookmarks. But there’s still images, PDFs and even the occasional generic file. The hardest thing to replace was the Evernote rich text combination of images and text. I liked the ability to put an image in a note and add some context that was also searchable. It seemed impossible to reproduce this in a simple and flexible way, mostly because I was focused on the complexity of Evernote instead of the simplicity of Markdown.

When my myopia subsided I’d developed a simple and multi-platform method of creating rich text notes using Markdown. The key is to store the images in a sub-directory of my active note collection in Dropbox. My folder structure looks like /Dropbox/Notes/Reference/. Inside Reference I put anything that I want to use inside a Markdown note.

Get the whole article here.

Leave a Reply

